Skip to main content

Accreditation and certification


What does it mean to be certified?

Doctors that are board-certified have finished their education and training, and have passed tests given by a certifying board. Doctors take these exams in a specialty in which they have received advanced training.

They’re also required by most specialty boards to continue learning throughout their careers. They need this education to become re-certified or to maintain their certification.

Who certifies my doctor?

Depending on what type of care provider you see, your doctor may be certified by a different group or board. Here’s a list of groups that generally certify your care providers:


What does it mean to be accredited?

If a facility is accredited, it means its services have met nationally recognized standards for delivering quality care.

HealthPartners accreditation is reviewed every three years. Quality improvement staff review any issues regarding the hospital’s quality of service and take action as needed.

Who decides if a facility is accredited?

There are many different agencies that determine health care accreditation. For hospitals the most common agency is the Joint Commission of Healthcare Organizations (Joint Commission).

AAAASF American Association for Accreditation of Ambulatory Surgery Facilities
AAAHC Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care, Inc.
ACHC Accreditation Commission for Health Care
AOA American Osteopathic Association
ACR American College of Radiology
CABC Commission for the Accreditation of Birth Centers
CARF Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities
CARF-CCAC Continuing Care Accreditation Program
CHAP Community Health Accreditation Partner
COA Council on Accreditation
DNVGL DNV GL Healthcare USA, Inc.
HFAP HealthCare Facilities Accreditation Program
IAC Intersocietal Accreditation Commission
Joint Commission The Joint Commission